A Change of Plans

I started this week with a plan to organize my kitchen; I wanted to do some serious spring cleaning. However, this did not go very well at all. All over Pinterest you see pins about how to “organize your kitchen from just one visit to the Dollar Store“, or “clean your kitchen and house on a budget”, blah blah blah. It all seems fine and dandy on Pinterest and of course they make it look so easy, but what they don’t tell you is that the Dollar Store doesn’t always have what you’re looking for.
image

When I read about how much money I will save and how no one will ever know I went to the Dollar Store, I got really excited. I was determined to leave my kitchen looking flawless. All my excitement and all of my drive slowly began to dissipate as I walked through every isle at the Dollar Store and could not find anything. I kid you not, there was not one thing that the pin told me to look for. I left with one item in hand (some lining for the drawers) and a very sad outlook on Pinterest. Now, I realize Pinterest is not to blame for the fact that the Dollar Store was not stocked to my desire, but does Pinterest fill your head with all these thoughts and ideas and it is devastating when you are unable to achieve your Pinterst goals.

I wasn’t ready to quit just yet, and I decided I would give Walmart a try. It is no Dollar Store, but it is still inexpensive and I was willing to give it a shot. They did have some of the things that I was looking for, but when I compared it to my original hopes of only paying $1, a $5 or $6 item just didn’t seem logical nor money saving. I mean come on, I am a college student, I am not made of money.

I went home that day upset, but I wasn’t going to end the week until I was able to achieve a successful pin. If you know me, then you know that I like the walls of my house to be filled. Some people call it clutter, but I call it art. There was a wall in my living room with a huge mirror and nothing else; it started to look a little bland to me. I decided to make it my goal to find something on Pinterest so that I could add some excitement to that side of the room. So, I started from square one and went browsing through Pinterest to find something that I thought would be 1) inexpensive and 2) fun to make.

I decided on this adorable idea of making Styrofoam flower letters. The concept seemed so simple, and it was an elegant way to add something to that once boring wall. With high hopes and a new attitude, I made my way over to Hobby Lobby. They always have a bunch of things for half off.

Of course, all the materials I needed were not on sale. They were still very cheap and affordable, and I was able to use a coupon for 40% off one item from an app called RetailMeNot. (If you don’t have this app I highly recommend it, it is an amazing money saving app.) Anyway, I ended up only spending about $25 dollars which is not bad considering I could have spent more just buying something for the wall.

As far as the crafting process it was really simple. I chose to make Styrofoam letters that spell out “Hi.” I would have done a longer word, but for the purpose of saving money I went this route. It is short and too the point, and looks adorable. I was really happy with out it came out; although, I wouldn’t mind adding a little more to the wall. ;]  I want to make one for my room that spells out my initials.

image

image

Overall I learned a lot about Pinterest. It is not all rainbows and butterflies and not everything is achievable. Somethings are better left on Pinterest. Sometimes you have to accept failure, but don’t ever quit. Move on and take a new approach and you are bound to succeed at some point.

I deem this WEEK a success.

Leave a Reply

